Life in the Marist Batcave

ImageHave you ever wondered what it would be like to live in Batman’s bat cave or actually visit it? I’ll let you ponder it. Fortunately, I have the chance to actually live in my very own version right here on campus!

ImageWhen I first got to Sheahan Hall and moved into my room, I was a bit frustrated because I had been assigned to a triple. My friends would joke around with me when we would go to the gym or to the café and ask me, “So how’s The Bat Cave treating you?” I would laugh it off a little bit and reply by saying, “It’s okay, I guess.” However, to be honest, during the first semester; I wasn’t happy with the fact that my side of the room was shared with one of my roommates because I didn’t have enough space to navigate throughout the room. My third roommate, an international student, moved in early and thus had the other side to himself.

Then after one long day of classes and a trip to the Red Fox Eatery, I thought to myself, “Hey, maybe I should stop thinking about all the “bad things” about my room.”

Instead, I began to embrace The Bat Cave and took pride in all that it offered my roommates and me. For instance, we have our very own bathroom. Yes people, you can pick up your jaws, I said “our very own bathroom”. Also, we have more space than the traditional freshman room and our very own spacious closets. Image

When people pass by our batcave, at the end of the hall and our door is open, they always peek in and say, “Oh my gosh, your room is huge! Can I come in? How did you guys get it?” We simply smile and shrug our shoulders.

Sure we’re cut off from society, but at least we’re ten feet away from the laundry room and we don’t have to worry about actually going outside of our rooms to bathe. Best of all, it’s quiet, even on the nights when students tend to celebrate a bit more.

The Bat Cave is my humble abode and I absolutely love it!

Jordan Carter
Class of 2016
Bat Cave Resident
@MaristJordan

Leave a comment